Blog Entry: August 5, 2024

Three days ago, I really injured myself. I was out training for an upcoming sprint triathlon (0.7 mile swim, 11 mile bike & 5km run) and I decided to do a bit of trail riding at this park where I used to trailride often when I was younger. Well I was stupid and took it way too fast and fell off at a turn. THe turn was on the side of hill and I had to hit the brakes in order to not hit a tree and on the other side, some felled logs. I was not wearing a helmet, but I will be buying one soon. This was like my 4th time riding in 2 years.

The bike dug into the medial side of my right knee as I braked before I tipped over, only a foot away from hitting the logs. I had to crawl out from under my bike, with my knee at a weird angle. I was so sure that my knee was dislocated. Arms and legs shook as I took my phone out, considering for a second to call 911 before I dialed my mom. I had to explain to her that I fell off, to use find my iphone to see where I was on the trail and to bring my brother along with her. And then I waited for 30 minutes for them to come to me.

They found me, helped me stand up and then used a wagon to help bring me back to the car. I didn't go to the ER because I thought it was just a sprain. A bad sprain but give it a couple days and I'll be fine. Ahahahaha, that is soooo not what happened.

I went to my general practitioner clinic and was able to get an appointment after waiting for two hours. The doctor was horrible, he didn't even manipulate my knee until I told him to. He told me "you're young and healthy, you'll be fine." BRO. I HAVE DISLOCATED SHOULDERS AND SPRAINED JOINTS BEFORE, THIS SHIT AINT NORMAL. We asked him to refer us to an orthopedist and he said no because that it would create more paperwork for the nurse manager. What the hell.

Anyway, we went to the ER later that night. They gave us an x-ray, bone was not broken. Gave me crutches and a brace, so off I went to my GP office again to try to convince them to refer me somewhere. YALL. SECOND DOCTOR WAS WORSE. Meanwhile, we were in the waiting room for a drop-in, an old lady came in who was... definitely not all there. Mind, this clinic serves the Slavic communtiy and older people there still dress like they're in the Soviet Union. She came in wearing a mens' wig with her white hair clearly peeking out from there. She cussed out the front, went behind the door to use the phone, cussed out another doctor and I quote "Tell Doctor [X] that I am more rational person that she'll ever be," which uh tracks. Anyways back to 2nd appointment; now if the first doctor was bad, this one? A complete fucker and I don't swear much so this is how you know its true. This man, comes in, doesn't look at me or my mother, asks me TWO questions!! Two!! It was: how did this happen, when did this happen and then tried to immediately leave after saying I was going to go to PT. I said "How can I do that when I can't even bend my knee?" ANd guess what this bitch said.

that attitude isn't going to help you

WHAT. BRO IM LITERALLY GOING INTO PT I JUST WANT SOME TIME AND ATTENTION BECAUSE THIS IS A BLODDY SERIOUS ISSUE AND IM REALLY WORRIED AAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAA I DIDNT EVEN SAY I WONT GO I JUST FEEL FUCKING DISRESPECTED BY YOU!!!!

Anyway, yeah that was my week. Tis been great as you can tell :(

Art pictured above is Slumber by William Henry Hunt, downloaded from Unsplash from Birminghams Museum Trust.